Nunavut Housing Corporation

Public Housing

The NHC delivers the Public Housing Program in all 25 Nunavut communities through close cooperation with our local partners. The financial resources and professional support needed to provide ongoing public housing services to Nunavummiut are made available through management agreements between the NHC and the Local Housing Organizations [LHO].

Public Housing Eligibility

To be eligible for public housing, an individual or family must meet certain criteria related to age, residency, income, arrears, and other factors.

To ensure that allocation of public housing units is done fairly across the territory; Local Housing Organizations use a point rating system to determine need.

Individuals and families interested in applying for public housing should contact their local housing organization to see if they are eligible, and fill out an application.

Nunavut is experiencing a housing shortage, and almost all communities have a significant wait-list for public housing allocation.

How Public Housing Works In Nunavut

The Public Housing Program is an income tested rental program which provides subsidized housing to tenants based on their income and ability to pay rent. As an income tested program, eligibility for Public Housing is based on the verification of income to meet the community Core Need Income Threshold.

All Public Housing in Nunavut uses the Public Housing Rent Scale, a rent-geared-to-income sliding scale designed to ensure that public housing rents remain fair and affordable.

In 2014, the NHC implemented changes to the Public Housing Rent Scale that were intended to reduce disincentives to employment, support the goals of poverty reduction, and make the calculation of rents fairer for tenants.

Public Housing rent is assessed based on the total gross income(s) of only the one or two Primary Tenants in the unit, and is based on an annual assessment of income. Rents are assessed based on the following income brackets:

  • A minimum rent of $60.00 a month for annual income under $22,880 PLUS
  • 20% of annual income between $22,000 and $40,000 PLUS
  • 25% of annual income between $40,000 and $80,000 PLUS
  • 30% of annual income over $80,000

Other important factors regarding rent and income assessment:

  • Monthly rent is $60.00 for units where the total income of the Primary Tenant(s) is less than $22,880 a year. (Minimum rent)
  • Rent increases due to income increases are limited to 25% of the new rent assessed per year until the rent assessed total is reached.
  • Primary Tenants 60 years of age and older (Elders) are assessed rent only on the portion of their individual incomes greater than the community Core Need Income Threshold (CNIT).
  • Primary Tenants who are full-time students may be exempt from rent.
  • Rent deductions may be made for the following:
    • The community specific Cost of Living Allowance (COLA)
    • Under accommodation within the unit
    • Condition rating of the unit
    • Unit specific livability deduction (for the old small units)
  • Rents are calculated on September 1st using the previous year’s income.
  • LHOs can reduce rents immediately if there is a long-term loss of income.
  • The maximum rent charged for a Public Housing unit, regardless of income is the Rent Ceiling. The Rent Ceilings apply for all Nunavut communities, and are listed below.
    Bachelor 1 bedroom 2 bedroom 3 bedroom 4 bedroom 5 bedroom
    $814/month $1,140/month $1,466/month $1,792/month $2,118/month $2,443/month

* Public Housing tenants who are having concerns with meeting rental payments should contact their Local Housing Organization as soon as possible.

Public Housing Delivery Agents and Partners

Local Housing Organizations

The Corporation is partnered at the community level with LHOs. Most LHOs are formed as Societies with locally elected Boards of Directors; however, a few are Authorities with board members appointed by the Minister. Our local partners are responsible for the complete care of the Public Housing portfolio, from unit allocations, to rental assessments and collections, to maintenance and repairs. As well, they perform most of the day-to-day duties associated with program delivery to individuals and families.

District Offices

Delivery of services and support to communities is managed through the NHC’s 3 District Offices. District Offices set regional priorities and work with LHOs and individual clients to ensure programs are being delivered to appropriate standards through monitoring and assessment. The District Office is responsible for ensuring the construction program is successfully delivered in their region. They are also responsible for the day to day interactions with the GN and outside agencies.

Modernization and Improvement To Our Public Housing Stock

In addition to the regular maintenance and upkeep performed on Public Housing units by our LHO partners, NHC is continually engaged in modernization and retrofits to upgrade the public housing stock. These can involve expansions, energy efficiency upgrades, and major renovations, in order to ensure the continued suitability and adequacy of our public housing units.

New Public Housing Construction

Every year NHC, in partnership with local delivery agents and private contractors, builds new public housing units across Nunavut. These are allocated according to a targeted delivery aimed at easing the shortage in communities most in need. Public housing construction is an important investment in the infrastructure of our territory. It improves the health and wellness of our communities and creates the necessary infrastructure for economic growth and productivity. Housing construction also offers valuable opportunities for hands-on training and job creation.

Nunavut Housing Corporation

Logement social

La SHN offre le Programme de logement social dans les 25 localités du Nunavut, en étroite collaboration avec ses partenaires locaux. Les ressources financières et le soutien professionnel requis pour la prestation de services continus en matière de logement social aux Nunavummiuts sont offerts dans le cadre d’ententes de gestion entre la SHN et les organismes locaux d’habitation (OLH).

Admissibilité au logement social

Pour être admissible à un logement social, une personne ou une famille doit satisfaire à certains critères ayant trait à l’âge, à la résidence, au revenu, aux arriérés de loyer et à d’autres facteurs.

Pour s’assurer que l’attribution des logements sociaux se fait de façon juste dans l’ensemble du territoire; les organismes locaux d’habitation établissent les besoins à l’aide d’un système de classement par points.

Les personnes et les familles qui désirent présenter une demande de logement social doivent communiquer avec leur organisme local d’habitation pour déterminer si elles sont admissibles et remplir une demande.

Le Nunavut est aux prises avec une pénurie de logements, et il y a une longue liste d’attente pour l’attribution de logements sociaux dans presque toutes les localités.

Fonctionnement du programme de logement social au Nunavut

Le Programme de logement social offre des logements locatifs subventionnés en fonction du revenu des locataires et de leur capacité à payer le loyer. Comme il s’agit d’un programme fondé sur le revenu, l’admissibilité est déterminée en fonction du plafond de revenu déterminant les besoins impérieux (PRBI) de la localité.

Au Nunavut, le cout de tous les logements sociaux est fixé selon le barème de loyers des logements sociaux, une échelle variable de loyer indexé sur le revenu conçue pour garantir que les logements sociaux ont des loyers équitables et abordables.

En 2014, la SHN a apporté des modifications au barème des loyers des logements sociaux qui visaient à éliminer les facteurs de dissuasion au travail, à soutenir les objectifs de réduction de la pauvreté et à rendre le calcul des loyers plus équitable pour les locataires.

Le loyer des logements sociaux est évalué en fonction du revenu brut total du principal locataire ou des deux principaux locataires du logement, et selon une évaluation annuelle du revenu. Les loyers sont fixés à l’aide des fourchettes de revenus suivantes :

  • Le loyer mensuel minimum est de 60,00 $ pour les locataires gagnant moins de 27 040 $ par année PLUS
  • loyer correspondant à 20 % du revenu annuel pour les locataires gagnant entre 27 040 $ et 40 000 $ PLUS
  • loyer correspondant à 25 % du revenu annuel pour les locataires gagnant entre 40 000 $ et 80 000 $ PLUS
  • loyer correspondant à 30 % du revenu annuel pour les locataires gagnant plus de 80 000 $.

Autres facteurs importants concernant le loyer et l’évaluation du revenu :

  • Loyer mensuel de 60,00 $ pour les logements où le revenu du ou des principaux locataires est inférieur à 27 040 $ par année (loyer minimum).
  • Les augmentations de loyer attribuables aux augmentations du revenu se limitent à 25 % du nouveau loyer calculé par année, jusqu’à ce que le loyer total soit atteint.
  • Le loyer des principaux locataires de 60 ans et plus (ainés) est évalué uniquement sur la portion de leurs revenus individuels excédant le plafond du revenu déterminant le besoin impérieux (PRBI) de la localité.
  • Les principaux locataires qui sont des étudiants à temps plein pourraient être dispensés de payer un loyer.
  • Des déductions de loyer peuvent s’appliquer pour les raisons suivantes :
    • l’indemnité de vie chère (IVC) propre à la localité;
    • le manque de commodités dans le logement;
    • l’évaluation de l’état du logement;
    • la déduction relative à l’état d’habitabilité propre à un logement (pour les vieux petits logements).
  • Les loyers sont calculés le 1er septembre en fonction du revenu de l’année précédente.
  • En cas de perte de revenus à long terme, les OLH peuvent réduire les loyers immédiatement.
  • Le loyer maximum demandé pour un logement social, sans égard au revenu, constitue le plafond des loyers. Le plafond des loyers s’applique à toutes les localités du Nunavut comme suit :
    Studio 1 chambre 2 chambres 3 chambres 4 chambres 5 chambres
    814 $/mois 1 140 $/mois 1 466 $/mois 1 792 $/mois 2 118 $/mois 2 443 $/mois

*Les locataires de logements sociaux ayant de la difficulté à payer leur loyer doivent communiquer avec leur organisme municipal d’habitation dès que possible.

Agents de location et partenaires

Organismes locaux d’habitation

À l’échelle des localités, la Société collabore avec les OLH. La plupart des OLH sont constitués en sociétés et leur conseil d’administration est élu localement. Toutefois, certains sont des autorités dont les membres du conseil sont nommés par le ministre. Les partenaires locaux sont entièrement responsables de la gestion du portefeuille des logements sociaux, ce qui comprend aussi bien l’attribution des logements et l’évaluation et la perception des loyers, que l’entretien et les réparations. Ils exécutent également les tâches quotidiennes relatives à la prestation du programme aux particuliers et aux familles.

District Offices

Les trois bureaux de district de la SHN gèrent la prestation des services et du soutien aux collectivités. Ils établissent les priorités régionales et collaborent avec les OLH et les clients pour assurer la conformité des programmes aux normes pertinentes au moyen de processus de surveillance et d’évaluation. Les bureaux de district doivent s’assurer que le programme de construction se déroule bien dans leur région. Ils sont également responsables des interactions quotidiennes avec le gouvernement du Nunavut (GN) et les organismes externes.

Modernization and Improvement To Our Public Housing Stock

En plus de l’entretien régulier des logements sociaux assuré par nos partenaires, les organismes locaux d’habitation, la SHN modernise continuellement son parc de logements sociaux afin de le mettre à niveau. Ces changements sont notamment des agrandissements, des améliorations écoénergétiques et des rénovations majeures visant à assurer la qualité et la convenance de nos habitations.

Construction de nouveaux logements sociaux

En plus de superviser l’entretien régulier et le maintien en bon état des logements sociaux effectués par les OLH partenaires, la SHN réalise continuellement des travaux de modernisation et de rénovation pour améliorer le parc de logements sociaux. Ces travaux peuvent comprendre des agrandissements, l’amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique et des rénovations importantes, grâce auxquels les logements sociaux demeurent de qualité convenables.