News Release


Minister Kusugak announces changes to NHC Board of Directors

The Honourable Lorne Kusugak, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation (NHC), announced changes to the membership of the corporation’s board of directors.

As of March 1, 2024, Derek Elias of Cambridge Bay and Annie Aningmiuq of Iqaluit have been appointed as directors, each serving a term of three years. “I would like to congratulate the newly appointed directors,” said Minister Lorne Kusugak.

“Mr. Elias has extensive leadership experience, with 17 years working for the NHC and serving as the former mayor of Cambridge Bay. Ms. Aningmiuq has a diverse education with a varied skillset from her work with several Inuit organizations and is currently the vice president of Nunasi Corporation. Their skills and experience will be constructive in guiding the corporation’s strategic direction, enabling NHC to provide fair access to a range of affordable housing options for families and individuals.”

John Apt will continue in his role as chairperson, while Peter Tapatai, John Hussey, and Allan Rumbolt will continue serving on the board. Six of the seven seats on the board of directors are filled.

“I thank outgoing board members George Qulaut of Igloolik, Patrick Tagoona of Rankin Inlet, and Emma Pauloosie of Gjoa Haven for their service and valuable contributions to the corporation,” said Minister Kusugak.

The new NHC board will meet April 23-25, 2024 to determine who will assume the role of vice-chair moving forward.


Nunavut 3000

Nunavut 3000 will create more housing for Nunavummiut by developing partnerships and investing in innovative construction methods that increase efficiency and decrease costs.

By working with communities, Inuit organizations, housing sector stakeholders, and all Nunavummiut, the Nunavut Housing Corporation is dedicated to realizing the vision of Nunavut 3000 to build healthy communities, support training and local economic development, and expand the housing continuum in Nunavut.